Monday, July 6, 2009

Scholar-athletes win

High school seniors from Greater New Haven recently were recognized as the state’s top scholar-athletes at the 2009 Connecticut Association of Schools Scholar-Athlete Banquet sponsored by McDonald’s.

Students honored are: Maritza Rosmond and Kyle Craven, shown in photo below, Hill Regional Career High School, Ashley McWilliams and Leo James, James Hillhouse High School, Shannon Palmer and Naveed Khoshnood, Wilbur Cross High School, shown in photo at top, all New Haven; Caroline O’Connor, Academy of Our Lady Mercy, Amy Jiravisitcul and Marc Shackett, Jonathan Law High School, Gina Massari and Joseph Tylutki, Joseph A. Foran High School, and Nancy Roman an Nick Cowell, Platt Technical High School, all in Milford; Taylor Norton and Chris Norton, West Haven High School; Megan Jones and Ronald Bilodeau Jr., Ansonia High School; Rebecca Schneider and Luis Davila, Emmett O’Brien Technical School, also Ansonia.
Also, Kelley Moller and John Merrimen,Woodland Regional High School, Beacon Falls; Victoria Redding and Scott Berges, Branford High School; Irene Kalbian and Varun Roy, Cheshire High School; Stephanie Gavilanes and Timothy Geer, Derby High School; Taylor Doughty and Steven Kapinos, East Haven High School; Katherine Crabtree and John Landock, Guilford High School; Stefanie Schaefer and Matt Spilka, Hamden High School; Jacqueline Galloway and Luis Cortes, Eli Whitney Technical High School, Victoria Pagan and Ash’Shaun Boston, Hyde Leadership School, and Taylor McGuinness, Sacred Heart Academy, all Hamden; Shannon Noonan and Mike Callaghan, Daniel Hand High School, Madison; Franshelyz Agosto and Rinaldo Izzo, H.C. Wilcox RVT School, Meriden; Melissa Ascher and Alexander Mastriano, Maloney High School, and Chelsea Garlock and Matt Raham, O.H. Platt High School, Meriden; Nicole Bouchard and Robert Mercier, North Branford High School; Minyound Song and Geoffrey Brown, North Haven High School; Colleen Garman and Joseph Kassay, Seymour High School, Leah Haxhi and Will Flynn, Pomperaug High School, Southbury; Sara Woznicki and William Abildgaard Jr., Lyman Hall High School and Emily Doll and Alexander Thompson, Sheehan High School, both Wallingford; and Teri Alessio and Thomas McKenna, Crosby High School, Ashley Steinfield and Ian Mangione, Holy Cross High School, Brooke Devito and Noel Cruz, J.F. Kennedy High School, Sarah Martin and Ryan Curtin, Sacred Heart High School; Ashley Allmond and Kevin Kelly, Wilby High School, and Ana DeAguiar and Matthew Luis, W.F. Kaynor Technical High School, all in Waterbury; Avery Silverstein and Adam Trofa, Amity Regional High School, Woodbridge; Alana Wesche and Greg Rice, Naugatuck High School; Cherie Boucher and Brian Stankus, Wolcott High School; and Koreen Shoham and Harry Mullin, William Hall High School, West Hartford.

“McDonald’s is proud to partner with CAS to honor the best and brightest high school scholar-athletes from all across Connecticut. We applaud the state’s top students for both their academic and athletic achievement,” Jim McGarry, McDonald's owner/operator and president of the Connecticut and Western Massachusetts McDonald's Owner/Operator Association said in a statement. “McDonald’s wishes each and every CAS Scholar Athlete all the best for continued success in the future.”
The Connecticut High School Scholar-Athlete 2009 Awards Banquet is the largest program of its type in the state, the statement said. Only one male and one female student are eligible for the award through a nomination from their principal for: demonstrating exemplary academic and athletic careers including participating in an interscholastic athletics; possessing personal standards and achievements that are a model to others; exhibiting outstanding school; and community service and carrying themselves with high levels of integrity, self-discipline and courage, the statement said.

No comments:

Nick Bellantoni to share ‘Deeply Human’ archaeology stories

  : Albert Afraid of Hawk, 1899, Heyn Photographer (Courtesy Library of Congress NEW HAVEN — While Nick Bellantoni ,  emeritus   Co...