Friday, December 10, 2010

St. Raphael’s Emergency Department wins national improvement award

Follow us on Twitter @nhregister

NEW HAVEN - The Hospital of St. Raphael’s Emergency Department has received a 2010 Top Improver Award from national patient-satisfaction survey firm Press Ganey Associates, Inc., according to a statement
Saint Raphael’s is one of nine emergency departments and 24 total Press Ganey participating facilities nationwide to receive this honor in 2010, the statement said.
"The award recognizes continuous improvement in quarterly patient-satisfaction scores over a two-year period. Under initiatives put in place by hospital leaders, the percentage of patients likely to recommend the Saint Raphael’s Emergency Department rose by more than 20 points in two years. Saint Raphael’s Emergency Department includes a trauma center as well as a Fast Track area for minor injuries and illnesses," the statement said.
“Our Emergency Department team has focused intently on improving the patient experience and making Saint Raphael’s a facility of choice in times of need,” St. Raphael’s President and CEO Chris O’Connor said, also in the statement. “Through diligent work by Emergency Department patient-satisfaction teams and an ongoing commitment by our entire staff, we continually strive to improve the care we provide and how we provide it.”

Areas of focus to improve the patient experience in St. Raphael’s Emergency Department have included around-the-clock staffing of a dedicated radiology area within the department, improved turnaround times for lab-test results to expedite care, a shortening of patient wait times, attention to amenities such as patient meal options, and the availability of a designated liaison to work with patients, families and staff. Other hospital departments involved in the effort included Psychiatry, Radiology, Pharmacy, Food Services and Admitting, the statement said.

In the photo, St. Raphael Emergency Department staff with the Press Ganey 2010 Top Improver Award. From left, Jeanette Bronsord, director of patient services; Andrea Lowe, administrative physician assistant; Hazel Prestin, patient care manager; Dr. David Harriman,associate chairman; Dr. Russ Braun, chairman of Emergency Medicine, and Michael DeVito, Emergency Medicine director of administrative services.

Editor's note: The information in this post was contributed wholly by The Hospital of St. Raphael

No comments:

Read the Masterpiece Cakeshop ruling

Read the U.S. Supreme Court case: Masterpiece Cakeshop v. Colorado Civil Rights Commission . Masterpiece Cakeshop Court Decision by H...