Blogs > Elm City Express

Do you want your news in a nutshell? If so, Elm City Express is the source for you. We are a service of the New Haven Register, but we will provide a slightly different daily dose of New Haven happenings, all wrapped up in the same place. We love to hear from the community and will post your news for you, often in your words! Remember: Local news is our story. Contact us at: We would love to hear from you.

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Irish eyes to smile

And dancing too

NEW HAVEN — The 2011 St. Patrick’s Parade Ball will take place at 7:30 p.m. March 5 at Yale Commons, 168 Grove St.

The four Associated Irish Societies have announced the honorees, who will be: Mary Gallagher Carter, the recipient of the Appreciation Award for her contributions to the Irish community and parade committee; William Tinker, for the Cornelius Driscoll Award on behalf of the New Haven Police Emerald Society; Joseph P. Faughnan, the James J. Dinnan award for his dedication and service to fellow Americans; and Walter J. Nester, will be conferred the title of the 2011 Grand Marshal for the Greater New Haven St. Patrick’s Day Parade.

The ball will include dancing to the sound of the New York Show Band until midnight. Donation of $90 includes buffet dinner and open bar.

For tickets, call chairman Kevin A. Smith at 203-535-3694. Tickets also can be purchased online at the parade website:

In the photo: Ryan Crowley (left) of New Haven dances with his brother, Kevin (right), of Milford on Chapel St. during the annual St. Patrick's Day Parade in New Haven on March, 14, 2010.
Photo by Arnold Gold


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home