Thursday, February 3, 2011

The music of Mozart

FOLLOW: @nhregister

"Majestic, melodious, and powerful work"

The American Baroque Orchestra will present Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante in E-flat for violin, viola, and orchestra, Exsultate, Jubilate for soprano and orchestra, and Symphony no. 29 in A major at 8 p.m. Feb. 19  at Trinity Baptist Church, 630 State St.

Admission is pay-as-you-can, according to a statement

The American Baroque Orchestra  is a dynamic Connecticut-based ensemble featuring the newest generation of baroque musicians, the statemnt said. The concert, entitled “Glory, Mischief, and Mozart!” explores the "creative genius behind one of the world’s all-time great composers," the statement said.

The concert will feature violinist Johanna Novom and violist Karina Fox in the Sinfonia Concertante in E-flat, "a majestic, melodious, and powerful work for violin, viola, and orchestra," the statement said. Also on the program is "the famous and exciting Exsultate, Jubilate with Kathryn Aaron, soprano, and the exuberant and tuneful Symphony no. 29 in A major," the statement said. All works will be performed on historical instruments.

"In light of the difficult economy, so as to make great music available to all, this will be another ABO pay-as-you-can event" (suggested donation $20, $5 for students), the statement said.
To support the work and growth of ABO, $35 patron seating with superior sight lines and acoustics is available.

For more information, visit:

No comments:

Read the Masterpiece Cakeshop ruling

Read the U.S. Supreme Court case: Masterpiece Cakeshop v. Colorado Civil Rights Commission . Masterpiece Cakeshop Court Decision by H...